Himachal Pradesh Administrative History

Administrative History

Himachal Pradesh was formed on 15th april 1948 with the merger of twenty six Shimla hill states and four Punjab hill states into a centrally administered Chief Commissioners Province.

On 15th April 1948 Chamba, Mandi, Sirmaur and Mahasu were created.

In 1950 Under Absorption of Enclave order :

In 1954 (1st Jul) Bilaspur was merged in Himachal, It had two tehsils Bilaspur and Ghumarwin.

On 1st may 1960 Kinnaur was carved out of Chinni tehsil and 14 villages of Rampur tehsil were also added to it.

In 1966 Kangra, Kullu, Lahual Spiti and Shimla 4 more districts were created when Punjab was reorganized.

On 25 Jan 1971 Himachal Pradesh was given statehood and it became 18th state of India.

On 29 Aug 1972 Kangra, Mahasu and Shimla(Shimla,Kandaghat and Nalagarh) districts were reorganized into following districts:

In 1951 Himachal became Part C state.

On 24th march 1952 S Parmar became CM (1st) with three members’ ministry & end of Chief Commissioner.

In March 1952, K.L Mehta became first chief secretary of the state.

1954 Department of Public Relations was established to initiate process of cordial relations and for publicizing government activities.

On 1st Nov 1956 H.P. became UT under the control of chief administrator and secretariat.

In 1957 Govt of India created joint IAS/IPS cadres for P and Delhi, functioning under Ministry of Home.

To provide democratic look to the Govt (Indian Parliament) Passed in Dec 1956 the Territorial council Act, 1956 and Territorial Council was formed.

To look loopholes of system central Govt appointed a committee under Ashok Sen, the then union Law minister. Committee submitted report in 1962- and recommended transfer of more subjects to the territorial council. So, in The Govt of union territories act 1963, provided legislative assembly in place of territorial council.

In 1965 separate civil and police cadres for U.T therefore Delhi, P, Andaman Nicobar cadres were created on 1st Dec 1965.

In 1966 Punjab was reorganized and some of its parts were merged with Himachal Pradesh.

1964 the first administrative reform commission headed by Morarji Desai.

Himachal Non gazette employees federation was set up on 20th Nov 1966.

Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission(HPPSC)

Himachal Pradesh Staff Selection Subordinate Board(HPSSSB, Hamirpur)

On 13th May 1986 reorganized divisions.

Some facts about Himachal Administration:

Parliamentat constituencie :

Chief Secretary is Head of all department and each Division is administered Divisional Commissioner.

There is a Resident commissioner for Pangi subdivision.

A District is headed by District collector or Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner. Superintendent of Police (S.P) assists him in maintenance of law and order.

At block level there is a BDO (Block Development Officer) recruited by state Govt).

On 27 august 2014 state Govt classified Tehsils and sub Tehsils on the basis of Patwar circles.

HP Institute of Public Administration

Lal Bahadur Shastri National academy of administration, Mussoorie provides training to IAS officers.

Himachal Pradesh lokayukta:

Some Important Acts:

HP administrative Tribunal

HP High Court

Himachal Pradesh Judicial Academy

Shimla district court complex: 1st structure in Shimla inspired by Gothic architecture completed in Dec 2012. It houses Police lockups, courtroom, bar room etc.

Legal Aid Clinic

The National commission of protection of child rights was set up in March 2007 under the (commission for protection of child rights, 2005).